Skip to main content

Biblical Exegesis

Resources for analyzing the Bible, for 1100-1101, 1200-1201, and beyond!

Finding Articles on Specific Verses

Both the New Testament Abstracts and Old Testament Abstracts databases allow you to search for scholarly articles on specific verses in the Bible.

Here's how:

1) From the search screen, click on Scriptures (at upper left)

2) Enter the book and chapter (e.g., Mark 9) into the search box and press Browse

3) Checkmark all the items that contain your verse, and click Search

Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database. This database provides an index to major religious and theology materials selected by religion scholars in the United States. Coverage in this collection dates back to 1949.
Old Testament Abstracts via EBSCOhost
Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
New Testament Abstracts via EBSCOhost
New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 42,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 15,600 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.

Ask a Librarian

If you need assistance finding or using these resources, please contact the Research Assistance Desk:

Phone: (910)893-1467

E-mail: reference@campbell.edu

Skype: Campbell Libraries