Skip to main content

EDUC 401 Children's Literature: Online Resources

Professional Resources

National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)                                                                                                                                                  NCTE offers several journals and periodicals that cover all grade levels and practically every area of interest in English and language arts.

International Reading Association

An association that aims to provide descriptions of effective reading practices around the world.

Classroom Enhancers

Children’s literature resources:

  • Children's Book Council  -A non-profit trade association of children's book publishers and producers of related materials pertaining to children's books and literature.
  • International Children's Digital Library  -The ICDL Foundation promotes tolerance and respect for diverse cultures by providing access to the best of children's literature from around the world.
  • Carol Hurst Children's Literature Site  -This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.
  • Storyline Online  -Streaming video program featuring famous people reading children's books aloud
  • Coretta Scott King Book Award Curricular Resources -The Coretta Scott King Book Award, founded in 1969, honors books that "promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society."

For lesson planning:

  • Web English Teacher  -One of the best of K-12 English Language Arts teaching resources: this site provides lesson plans for reading, writing, and speaking on all grade levels.

  • Heartland Truly Moving Pictures  -As a Truly Moving Picture Award-winning film adapted from a book, these movies feature free, downloadable curriculum for those who work with youth and youth groups.
  • The History Channel  -Explore History shows, watch videos and full episodes, play games and access articles on historical topics.
  • Famous North Carolinians -Listing of famous North Carolinians.
  • Learn NC -LEARN NC, a program of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Education, provides lesson plans, professional development, and innovative web resources to support teachers, build community, and improve K-12 education in North Carolina.
  • Library of Congress Teachers Page - Contains ready-to-use materials that bring the Library's primary sources into the classroom.
  • NC Live Video Collection  -Online videos from PBS including Ken Burns', Masterpiece Theater, Scientific American, American Experience, and more.
  • Questia Free Books  -More than 5,000 fiction and non-fiction titles are available through Questia for free.
  • Search-Ebooks  -Search EBooks is a service dedicated to helping you find free ebooks. When you find an ebook on Search EBooks you can view a preview of it, download, or grab an embed code without ever leaving the search results page.
  • Project Gutenberg Audio Books  -Project Gutenberg makes audio eBooks available for some of the same great literature available in plain text. The listings are divided into two categories: Human-read and computer-generated audio books. These files can be very large, so are not well suited for people using a modem or other low-speed connection.
  • Project Gutenberg Books in Spanish  
  • North Carolina History Project -An edited, evolving, and free online encyclopedia of North Carolina that also includes commentaries, lesson plans, and a community calendar.

 

Student Run Lesson: Keep It or Junk It (10 min)

Lesson Objective

Facilitate discussion by deciding whether to 'keep it or junk it'

Questions to Consider

  • How do students demonstrate their understanding of the text?
  • How do student facilitators help to increase participation and engagement?
  • What role does Ms. Brouhard play in this discussion?

Curriculum Materials/Media Librarian

LaKeshia Darden's picture
LaKeshia Darden
Contact:
Wiggins Memorial Library
Office: Third floor, Rm 310.
CMMC Research Assistance Desk: 910-893-1595
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact