Skip to main content

EDUC 401 Children's Literature: Books and Media

Media

You will find relevant DVD titles to assist you with planning your lessons.

Audio Books Database

Teaching With Caldecott Award Books

Teaching with Caldecott Award Books


The Caldecott Medal is awarded each year to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. The award was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott.

To teach students about the art work and the stories behind the art be sure to check some of the following resources:

Art Medium of the Caldecott Award and Honor Books -- this CML website contains a listing of the Caldecott Award and Honor books and the art medium used, as well as links to information about the author, illustrator, and book information.

Caldecott Connections -- this website was developed by Annette Lamb for use by teachers and librarians who want to teach about the art and history of the Caldecott Award books.

Teaching Caldecott Winners -- this website created by Scholastic contains some wonderful resources for teaching the Caldecotts.

Caldecott Illustrations Lesson Plans --- from Lesson Planet , this website contains over 80 lesson plans that are free for users who create their personal accounts through Lesson Planet.

Caldecott Award Books -- this website created by retired Texas educator, Suzy Red, contains several resources and ideas for using Caldecott Award books.

"Oklahoma State University - Library - Mary L. Williams Curriculum Materials Library." Oklahoma State University - Library - Mary L. Williams Curriculum Materials Library. N.p., n.d. Web. 08 Jan. 2014.

LC Classification for Education

    Juvenile non-fiction titles are located in classes within the topic of their regular subject heading class from A (general works) to Z (bibliography). Below is a quick guide resource for popular subject headings for children’s literature which will lead to educated browsing of the CMMC collection.

    Classification

    Subclass

    Subject Heading

    P

     

    Language and Literature

    PE

     

    English Language

     

    PE 1155

    PE 1628

    Alphabet Books

    Juvenile Dictionaries

    PN

     

    Liteature (General)

     

    PN6110

    PN 6371

    PN 6727-6790

    Poetry

    Riddles

    Comic books/Graphic novels

    PR

     

    English Literature

    PS

     

    American Literature

    PZ

     

    Fiction and Juvenile

     

    PZ 5

    Collections

     

    PZ 6

    Early to 1860/1870

     

    PZ 7

    General Juvenile Fiction Alphabetical by author last name

     

     

    PZ 7.7

    More graphic novels

     

    PZ 8

    Fairy tales

     

    PZ 8.1

    Folklore, Legends, Romance

     

    PZ 8.2

    Fables

     

    PZ 8.3

    Stories in Rhyme

     

    PZ 10.3

    Animal Stories

     

    PZ 73-78

    Languages: Spanish

    For research resources browse or search the following subject headings in the CMMC or in the basement of Wiggins Memorial Library:

    Call Number Range

      Subject

    L7-991

      Education (General)

    LA5-2396

      History of education

    LB5-3640

      Theory and practice of education

    LC8-6691

      Special aspects of education

    LD13-LG961

      Individual institutions

    LJ3-165

      Student fraternities and societies, United States

    LT6-1001

      Textbook

     

      British Children's Book Awards and Other Notables

      Find It! LIBRARY OF CONGRESS

      Books in Wiggins Memorial Library are cataloged using the Library of Congress Classification system.

      Find It! DEWEY

      Books in primary and secondary schools are cataloged using the Dewey Decimal system.

      When we don't have it...

      Resources not owned by the Campbell University Libraries can be borrowed from other libraries through ILLiad, an interlibrary loan (ILL) system available to Campbell faculty, staff, and students as an aid to research and study. Request it through our Interlibrary Loan service and we will borrow it from another library.  This service is free of cost.  Please allow up to 4-5 days for book requests, and 2-3 days for articles.

      Check out this online tutorial to learn how to use ILLiad.