Skip to main content

Multi-cultural Children's Literature

Tutorials on Education Databases

ERIC via ERIC Official Web Site
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. The new ERIC online system, released September 2004, provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. Effective October 1, more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, will be available for free.
Academic Search Complete via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Films on Demand
Over 7,000 full-length, streaming educational videos in many academic disciplines.
Online Tutorial
JSTOR (Full Text)
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in the following subject areas: Area Studies, Arts, Business and Economics, Education, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine and Allied Health, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences. JSTOR Arts and Sciences III, IV, V, VI, VII, and VIII Collections have been added to our original collections of Arts and Sciences I and II. This latest purchase added the archives of over 1,300 journals to the library’s collection.
Online Tutorial

 

NC LIVE Video Collection via NC LIVE
Online videos from PBS including Ken Burns', Masterpiece Theater, Scientific American, American Experience, and more.
Online Tutorial
 
SAGE Journals Online (Full Text)
SAGE provides access to over 600 journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
Online Tutorial
TeachingBooks.net
TeachingBooks.net is a database of multimedia materials about children's and young adult books, authors, and illustrators. Designed for teachers, it includes aids such as lesson plans and book discussion guides for almost every book being taught in the K-12 curriculum.
Online Tutorial