Skip to main content

Multi-cultural Children's Literature

Additional Web Resources

19th Century American Literary, Historical, and Cultural Studies

Materials available on the Web for studying and teaching about 19th century American literature, history and culture.

Classroom Connect

Resources for professional development options and innovative, interactive pre-K-12 solutions.

Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)

A unique and vital gathering place for books, ideas, and expertise in the field of children's and young adult literature.

Coretta Scott King Book Award Curricular Resources

The Coretta Scott King Book Award, founded in 1969, honors books that "promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society."

Education Directory of North Carolina

The Education Directory of North Carolina contains the phone number and address of all North Carolina education related agencies and organizations.

Educational Resources on Asia

An extensive collection of annotated links to reference works, on-line periodicals, research and teaching institutions, government resources, and general interest sites about Asia.

EduHound

EduHound is valuable for students, teachers, parents, and anyone else interested in a comprehensive menu of educational resources. The site includes links to resources for most subjects taught in the K-12 curriculum and also provides links to community resources, grants and fundings, and professional sites for teachers.

Encyclopedia of Earth

The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and will be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.

Famous North Carolinians

Listing of famous North Carolinians.

Learn NC

LEARN NC, a program of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Education, provides lesson plans, professional development, and innovative web resources to support teachers, build community, and improve K-12 education in North Carolina.

Library of Congress Teachers Page

Contains ready-to-use materials that bring the Library's primary sources into the classroom.

National Center for Education Statistics

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

net.TUTOR

net.TUTOR offers interactive tutorials on basic tools and techniques for becoming an effective Internet researcher.

North Carolina History Project

An edited, evolving, and free online encyclopedia of North Carolina that also includes commentaries, lesson plans, and a community calendar.

North Carolina Public Schools Statistical Profile

The North Carolina Public Schools Statistical Profile is a collection of statistical information about North Carolina's elementary and secondary schools.

North Carolina Standard Course of Study

This service provides a convenient way for teachers, administrators, and parents to verify the instructional objectives of the Standard Course of Study at a given grade and subject area.

North Carolina Teacher Academy

The North Carolina Teacher Academy is a professional development program for teachers established and funded by the North Carolina General Assembly. The mission of the Academy is to support continuous learning to the growth of a career teacher by providing quality professional development in the areas of school leadership, instructional methodology, core content, and use of modern technology in order to enrich instruction and enhance student achievement.

Teaching Positions in North Carolina

Teaching Pre K-8

Professional development and Classroom activities for teachers.

U.S. Department of Education

Virtual Chase, The

Offers articles, guides, teaching materials, an alert service and more on Internet research strategies and resources.

World Wide Learn

Directory of online courses, accredited online degrees, continuing education, online training, and online education.

Web Resources

Search the Web