Skip to main content

Social Work: Social Work Websites

Social Work

Social Work Issues

 

Spotlight on Poverty and Opportunity
This site examines poverty as a whole, with different sections dedicated to specific issues and groups.  Offers a wealth of information that features statistical data, articles, press releases, videos, and links to additional resources.

 

Society for Social Work Leadership in Healthcare
This websites core values are: Advocacy, stewardship, ethics, creativity, and inclusiveness.

HandsNet
Hands Net has combined current human services and community development information important to low-income communities and communities of color. Hands Net seeks to encourage comprehensive thinking for improving the lives of people living in these communities.

Rural Policy Research Institute
RUPRI conducts policy-relevant research and facilitates public dialogue to assist policymakers in understanding the rural impacts of public policies and programs.

Institute for Women's Policy Research
A non-profit organization dedicated to researching policy issues of critical importance for women. IWPR's policy areas include poverty and welfare.

Maternal Child Health Policy Research Center
The MCH Policy Research Center is a health policy group that provides federal and state policymakers, public health officials, and provider and family organizations with analysis, objective research, and strategic guidance on financing and service delivery issues affecting children and adolescents, particularly those with special needs and those from low-income families.

National Research Center For Women & Families
The National Research Center for Women & Families promotes the health and safety of women, children, and families, by using objective, research-based information to encourage new, more effective programs and policies. The Center achieves its mission by gathering and analyzing information and translating that information into clearly presented facts and policy implications that are made widely available to the public, the media, and policy makers.

National Center for Children in Poverty
The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children. NCCP uses research to inform policy and practice with the goal of ensuring positive outcomes for the next generation. We promote family-oriented solutions at the state and national levels.

IASWR has moved to Social Work Policy Institute

The mission of the Social Work Policy Institute (SWPR), a think tank established within the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) Foundation is:
a) To strengthen social work's voice in public policy deliberations
b) To inform policymakers through the collection and dissemination of information on social work effectiveness
c) To create a forum to examine current and future issues in health care and social service delivery  

Campbell Collaboration
The C2 website posts a searchable database of randomized controlled clinical trials and systematic reviews of social, psychological, education, and criminological research. All research presented on the website has met rigorous methodological standards and are designed to provide researchers, policy makers, and practitioners with critical reviews of current research. Thirty full reviews are currently available to download from the website and several more are currently in progress.

The Evidence-Based Program Database
The Evidence-Based Program Database is a compilation of quality government, academic, and non-profit lists of evidence-based programs that appear on the World Wide Web and/or in print form. While these existing resources are of excellent quality, they have not been available in a centralized, user-friendly searchable database. Further, the content of all of these lists changes annually, making it very difficult for practitioners to remain knowledgeable of available evidence-based programs and select from them wisely. The programs in this database have all been shown to be effective at changing youth behaviors.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC) is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally created by AHRQ in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans (now America's Health Insurance Plans [AHIP]).

Institute for Research on Poverty
The Institute for Research on Poverty (IRP) is a university-based center for research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States. It is non-profit and non-partisan.

OJJDP Model Programs Guide
The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Model Programs Guide (MPG) is designed to assist practitioners and communities in implementing evidence-based prevention and intervention programs that can make a difference in the lives of children and communities. The MPG database of evidence-based programs covers the entire continuum of youth services from prevention through sanctions to reentry. The MPG can be used to assist juvenile justice practitioners, administrators, and researchers to enhance accountability, ensure public safety, and reduce recidivism.

Evidence-Based Mental Health
Evidence-Based Mental Health alerts clinicians to important advances in treatment, diagnosis, aetiology, prognosis, continuing education, economic evaluation and qualitative research in mental health. The journal surveys a wide range of international medical journals applying strict criteria for the quality and validity of research. Practicing clinicians assess the clinical relevance of the best studies. The key details of these essential studies are presented in a succinct, informative abstract with an expert commentary on its clinical application. Published quarterly, Evidence-Based Mental Health is multidisciplinary. It covers studies of adults, children, older adults, people who have developed psychiatric or psychological problems as a result of trauma and people with learning disabilities, head injuries, drug and alcohol problems and personality disorders.

Social Work Websites

Government Sites

U. S. Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau website provides a source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Center for Disease Control
This website contains information and insight about health, safety, life stages, and a plethora of related topics. The CDC’s mission is "to promote health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability."

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
This website is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.

Some programs include:

  • Health and social science research
  • Preventing disease, including immunization services
  • Medicare (health insurance for elderly and disabled Americans) and Medicaid (health insurance for low-income people)
  • Health information technology
  • Financial assistance and services for low-income families
  • Improving maternal and infant health
  • Faith-based and community initiatives
  • Preventing child abuse and domestic violence
  • Substance abuse treatment and prevention
  • Services for older Americans, including home-delivered meals

Department of Health and Human Services: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence Based Practice
The department website provides links to evidence-based practice centers in the United States and Canada performing funded research and information mainly in the area of physical health, but also provides reports in psychiatry and substance abuse.

National Institute on Drug Abuse
There are two main factors that this website focuses on: strategic support and conduct of research across a broad range of disciplines, and ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention, treatment and policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.

SAMHSA’s National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices
The National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) is a searchable online registry of mental health and substance abuse interventions that have been reviewed and rated by independent reviewers.The purpose of this registry is to assist the public in identifying approaches to preventing and treating mental and/or substance use disorders that have been scientifically tested and that can be readily disseminated to the field. NREPP is one way that SAMHSA is working to improve access to information on tested interventions and thereby reduce the lag time between the creation of scientific knowledge and its practical application in the field. NREPP is a new registry and currently has several dozen reviewed interventions. New intervention summaries are continually being added as reviews are completed. The registry is expected to grow to a large number of interventions over the coming months and years. Please check back regularly to access the latest updates.

U.S. Department of Education
This website collects data on America's schools and disseminates research, as well as focuses national attention on key educational issues.

USA.gov
Official portal to the U.S. Government sites.

Office of Extramural Research
This website provides useful information about policies, funding opportunities, and the application process for research grants.

FedStats
Federal statistics, very user-friendly gateway to many federal data sources

Social Work Organizations

National Association of Social Workers
This website is a useful tool for any person in the social work profession.

National Association of Social Workers Research
This Research Page is intended to help inform policy, practice, and education by providing information on social work research to NASW members, as well as to the general public.

Society for Social Work Research
The Society for Social Work and Research is a non-profit (Federal ID Number 13-3768131), professional society incorporated in the State of New York in 1993. The Society is devoted to the involvement of social workers, other social work faculty and social work students in research and to the promotion of human welfare through research and research applications.

School Social Work Association of America
Some goals of the website are to strengthen the profession of school social work by maintaining and increasing the number of school social workers across the nation, and to offer opportunities for ongoing professional development.

International Federation of Social Workers
The International Federation of Social Workers (IFSW) is a global organization striving for social justice, human rights and social development through the development of social work, best practices and international cooperation between social workers and their professional organizations.

The Association for Gerontology Education in Social Work
The Association for Gerontology in Social Work (AGESW) provides leadership in the areas of gerontological social work education, research, and policy, and fosters cooperation, collegiality and an exchange of ideas among social work educators, researchers and students committed to or interested in gerontology.

Social Work Leadership Institute
The Social Work Leadership Institute is a national program that supports healthy aging. The institute focuses on improving the quality of health and long-term care for older adults - particularly those with complex chronic conditions - so that these services are better coordinated and easier to access; and growing the workforce of professionals trained in aging care, including social workers.

Association of Pediatric Oncology Social Workers
APOSW is a group of passionate, professional oncology social workers. The organization is focused on enhancing the lives of children with cancer and blood disorders and the families who care for them. APOSW advances its mission by promoting pediatric psychosocial oncology care through clinical social work practice, research, advocacy, education, and program development.

Centers & Institutions

National Institutes of Health
This website provides links to many organizations for agencies working to achieve best practice in child welfare.

Casey Family Programs
Casey Family Programs’ website provides information on how to administer, improve and ultimately to prevent the need for foster care.

National Sexual Violence Resource Center
This website provides information and resources regarding all aspects of sexual violence.

The Council of State Governments
This website helps states increase efficiency by identifying the best new and creative approaches to significant state problems and policies.

North American Resource Center for Child Welfare
It is the Center for Child Welfare Policy's goal to support bold ideas in the field of child welfare; to promote the critical appraisal of these ideas through good science and open debate; to support the epistemological position that a collective and objective knowledge base can be identified and sustained; to support courageous publication of meritorious work that exemplifies these principles; and to support the moral position that it is our responsibility to do so.

The Urban Institute
Part of the Urban Institute's Mission is to promote sound social policy and public debate on national priorities. The institute also collects and analyzes data, conducts policy research, and evaluates programs and services.

Human Services Research Institute
This website helps to expand the use of research and evaluation to guide policy and practice. The website also provides tools that can assist human service organizations and systems to develop support systems for children, adults, and families.

American Board of Examiners in Clinical Social Work
The American Board of Examiners in Clinical Social Work (ABE) is the national standard-setting organization for the profession of Clinical Social Work. ABE sets and promotes national practice standards, publishes position statements, maintains an online directory of certificates, and issues credentials for advanced clinical generalists (BCD), clinical supervisors, children/families practitioners, and psychoanalysts.

Guttmacher Institute
This website provides a wide range of resources on topics pertaining to sexual and reproductive health.

Center for Law and Social Policy
Through careful research and analysis and effective advocacy, CLASP develops and promotes new ideas, mobilizes others, and directly assists governments and advocates to put in place successful strategies that deliver results that matter to people across America.  We are nonpartisan and situated at the intersection of local practice, national research, and state and federal policy, and striving to translate each world to each other.

The Brookings Institution
The Brookings Institution is a non-profit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Its mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance three broad goals: strengthen American democracy; foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans and secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system.

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is one of the nation’s premier policy organizations working at the federal and state levels on fiscal policy and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income families and individuals.

Public Agenda
Public Agenda is an innovative, non-partisan public opinion research and public engagement  organization that works to strengthen our democracy's capacity to tackle tough public policy issues. The organization, through issue guides and Citizen's Survival Kit, FacingUp.org, PlanetForward.org and on social networks - and in communities around the country, and through our academic arm, the Center for Advances in Public Engagement (CAPE), are all focused on ensuring that the public's views are represented in decision-making.

Mathematica Policy Research, Inc.
Mathematica, a nonpartisan firm, conducts policy research and surveys in health care, education, welfare, family support, employment and nutrition.

Public Policy Research
Public Policy Research conducts research on a broad range of social and environmental problems.

Center For Policy Research
The Center for Policy Research is a non-profit corporation established in 1981 to work with public and private sector service providers to conduct research.

NAMI: National Alliance on Mental Illness | Policy Research Institute
From its inception in 1979, NAMI has been dedicated to improving the lives of individuals and families affected by mental illness. For three decades, NAMI has established itself as the most formidable grassroots mental health advocacy organization in the country. Dedication, steadfast commitment and unceasing belief in NAMI's mission by grassroots advocates have produced profound changes. NAMI's greatest strength is the dedication of our grassroots leaders and members.

MDRC
Created in 1974 by the Ford Foundation and a group of federal agencies, MDRC is best known for mounting large-scale evaluations of real-world policies and programs targeted to low-income people. The organization helped pioneer the use of random assignment — the same highly reliable methodology that is used to test new medicines — in the evaluation of such policies and programs.The five main policy areas in which the organization works are: Promoting family well-being and child development, improving public education, promoting successful transitions to adulthood, supporting low-wage workers and communities, overcoming barriers to employment.

Institute for Policy Research, Northwestern University
Interdisciplinary public policy research institute founded to stimulate and support excellent social science research on significant public policy issues.

Institute for Policy & Social Research
The Institute for Policy & Social Research brings together social scientists from a broad range of disciplines to pursue and conduct sponsored research.

The Carter Center
The Carter Center, in partnership with Emory University, is committed to advancing human rights and alleviating unnecessary human suffering. Founded in 1982 by former U.S. President Jimmy Carter and former First Lady Rosalynn Carter, the Atlanta-based Center has helped to improve the quality of life for people in more than 70 countries.

Institute for Social Research (University of Michigan)
The University of Michigan Institute for Social Research (ISR) is the world's largest academic social science survey and research organization. We are a leader in developing and applying new social science methods, and we are committed to educating the next generation of social scientists. After a rich 60-year history, we continue to broaden our scientific reach through international ventures and new collaboration with federal agencies, foundations, corporations, and private individuals.

 

 

NC Social Work Websites

 

National Association of Social Workers-North Carolina

http://www.naswnc.org/

 

As a membership association NASW-NC provides numerous membership benefits such as newsletters, consultation on professional issues, malpractice insurance, lower fees at association conferences, etc.  The Chapter is also involved in professional advocacy through lobbying efforts in the NC General Assembly and representation on numerous statewide coalitions, committees and task forces, as well as with numerous departments with North Carolina State government.  The Chapter's advocacy and legislative efforts focus on issues that would be of concern to social workers clients, such as health care for all.

 

 

North Carolina Society for Clinical Social Work

http://www.ncscsw.org/newsite/home

 

NCSCSW is a professional organization specifically for clinical social workers. We promote high standards of professional education, ethical practice and achievement. It is our goal to increase the expertise of the clinical social worker by providing education through workshops, presentations and courses. We also desire to protect the mental health consumer, maintain quality service and promote consumer choice in selecting mental health professionals.

 

Association of Social Work Boards

http://www.aswb.org/

 

The Association of Social Work Boards is comprised of social work regulatory bodies in 58 jurisdictions. These member boards govern the association through the ASWB Delegate Assembly, made up of representatives from each member jurisdiction.