LibGuides: HIST 352: East Asia: An area study: Reference works and web resources

Useful Reference Books

These books are all reference books and may not be checked out of the library. You may use them in the library, make copies and scan them, but they cannot leave the building.

Standard English-Korean & Korean-English dictionary for foreigners : romanized by B.J. Jones & Gene S. Rhie
Call Number: PL 937.K67 S68 1991
ISBN: 093087806X
Historical Dictionary of modern China by James Z. Gao
Call Number: DS 755.G368 2009
ISBN: 0810849305
Japan: an illustrated encyclopedia
Call Number: DS 805.J263 1993
ISBN: 406205938X
ABC Chinese-English dictionary : alphabetically based computerized by John DeFrancis
Call Number: PL 1455 .A24 1996
ISBN: 0824817443
Operation China by Paul Hattaway
Call Number: DS 730.H35 2000
ISBN: 0878083510
Hammond world atlas by Hammond World Atlas Corporation
Call Number: G 1021 .H2665 2008
ISBN: 0843709677
Random House Japanese-English English-Japanese dictionary by Seigo Nakao
Call Number: PL 679 .N294 1995
ISBN: 0679441492
The Greenwood encyclopedia of daily life : a tour through history from ancient times to the present by Joyce E. Salisbury
Call Number: GT 31 .G74 2004
ISBN: 0313325413
This is a 6 volume set

Useful Websites

CNN - World
CNN's coverage of Asian News
BBC News Asia
The BBC's coverage of Asian News
New York Times Asia Pacific
The New York Times' Asian News
Digital South Asia Library
A project of the Center for Research Libraries, the DSAL provides electronic access to a diversity of information: reference books, dictionaries, images, maps, statistics, library catalogs, periodical indexes, and books.
SARAI South Asian Resource Access on the Internet
Part of the World Wide Web Virtual Library, this portal accesses sites containing information from and about South Asia: libraries, reference tools, electronic books and journals, directories, country specific material, organizations, news, and topics of current and historical interest.
NPR coverage of Asia
Local NPR stations
WFSS 91.9 http://www.wfss.org/ (NPR news and Jazz)
WUNC 89.1http://wunc.org
Christian Science Monitor coverage of Asia