LibGuides: HIST 322: Latin America: An area study: Reference works and web resources

Useful Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Ancient Mesoamerica
Call Number: F 1219.B932 1996
ISBN: 0816024022
Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures
Call Number: F 1406.E515 2000
ISBN: 041513188X

These books are all reference books and may not be checked out of the library. You may use them in the library, make copies and scan them, but they cannot leave the building.

Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture
Call Number: F 1406.E53 1996
ISBN: 0684192535
The Hispanic World 1492-1898
Call Number: F 1410.J55 1994
ISBN: 084440697X

Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is EBSCO's comprehensive scholarly database, covering most subjects. It contains more than 10,000 full text peer reviewed journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 15,000 journals.
Online Tutorial
Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Gale NewsVault allows you to cross-search six newspaper databases: 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Economist Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, Sunday Times Digital Archive, Times Digital Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, providing entire backfiles of key journals. Campbell has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I through VIII and XI, as well as specific collections for Life Sciences, Religion and Theology.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Online Tutorial
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Online searchable electronic version of the Decades Series.
Sunday Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The Sunday Times, published since 1822, is a rich complement to the Times (London) Digital Archive. See also Times Digital Archive.
Covers 1822-2006

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

If Wiggins Memorial Library doesn't have a resource that you need for your research, we can get it through Interlibrary Loan. Just click on the link below to be taken to the Interlibrary Loan request page.

Useful Websites

HLAS Online Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. More inf
LANIC Latin American Network Information Center
LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Our target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region. While many of our resources are designed to facilitate research and academic endeavors, our site has also become an important gateway to Latin America for primary and secondary school teachers and students, private and public sector professionals, and just about anyo
CNN Canada/Latin America
CNN's coverage of Latin American and Canadian News
BBC News Latin America & Caribbean
The BBC's Latin American and Caribbean news
Americas
The New York Times' Americas news coverage
NPR coverage of Latin America
Local NPR stations
WFSS 91.9 http://www.wfss.org/ (NPR news and Jazz)
WUNC 89.1http://wunc.org