Skip to main content

Art: Internet Resources

This research guide is designed to assist you with your research in the Fine Arts.

How May I Help You?

Sarah Steele's picture
Sarah Steele
Contact:
Sarah's Office: 910.893.1466
Research Assistance Desk: 910.893.1467
Circulation Desk: 910.893.1462
Prefer an appointment? Sign up here
Website

Art Internet Resources

Art cyclopedia
A comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources.
ArtSource
Internet resources for art librarians.
Black Voices
The premiere site for African-American culture and community, offers African-American message boards, profiles and chats, African-American sports, African-American news, African-American entertainment, African-American style and beauty, relationship advice and more.
Blue Web'n
Blue Web'n is an online library of 2,194 outstanding Internet sites categorized by subject, grade level, and format (tools, references, lessons, hotlists, resources, tutorials, activities, projects). You can also browse by broad subject area (Content Areas) or specific sub-categories (Subject Area).
Directory of Open Access Journals
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a pandisciplinary and lingual resource that allows users to identify and search free, full-text, quality controlled open-access scientific and scholarly journals. It included more than 4,642 journals, more than 1,819 of which are searchable at the article levels.
Exploratorium
Housed within the walls of San Francisco's Palace of Fine Arts, the Exploratorium is a collage of hundreds of science, art, and human perception exhibits.
ibiblio
Home to one of the largest "collections of collections" on the Internet, ibiblio.org is a conservancy of freely available information, including software, music, literature, art, history, science, politics, and cultural studies.
ImageBase
A browsable/searchable database of tens of thousands of images and related data housed at Virginia Tech University Libraries' Digital Library and Archives.
INFOMINE
Contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information.
Internet Movie Database (IMDb), The
Searchable database of information on over 250,000 movies made since the dawn of cinema plus even more on over 900,000 people who helped make them.
North Carolina Museum of Art
Smithsonian American Art Museum
Official web site of Smithsonian American Art Museum
Timeline of Art History
The Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.
WebMuseum
Collection of artworks.

Search the Web

Google Web Search