LibGuides: ENGL 201 & 202: British Literature: Databases

Databases for Literary Eras

English Poetry (600-1900) This link opens in a new window
Hosts works published from 600-900 in English.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Hosts works published from 147301700 in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Hosts works published in English in the United Kingdom from 1701-1800.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
Hosts poetry published in the United Kingdom from 1900-2000.

Get Materials from Campbell Libraries

Request Materials from Wiggins Library to:

Get Materials Campbell Doesn't Have

Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Request print books and articles to receive them through Campbell Libraries.
WorldCat: Search the world's libraries to see what books are out there on a given topic.

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Combines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles and criticisms, including peer-reviewed, bios and interviews, novels, short stories, poems, and literary magazines.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online sorts criticism topically, by period, and even by author depending on prominence. Also includes Poetry and Short Story criticism.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database that can be cross-referenced with other literary databases, the MLA International Bibliography is a great starting point for literary research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
While an interdisciplinary resource, JSTOR is great specifically for short story research.

Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
A great resource for looking up an event or literary period to get a sense of what was going on as background research. Test your topics by looking into them in a resource like this.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online This link opens in a new window
Trace the use of a word across time periods and make sure that the definition you are using is the right one for your current time period.