LibGuides: Evidence-Based Physical Therapy: Primary Literature

Pre-Appraised Articles (Trials, Studies, and Some Reviews)

POEMs research summaries
The archived collection of 3,500+ regularly updated Daily POEMs. POEMs ("Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters") are synopses of new evidence carefully filtered for relevance to patient care and evaluated for validity, from continuous review, grading, and critical appraisal of all 3000+ studies published monthly in more than 100 journals.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Un-Appraised Individual Trials and Studies

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains indexing for 2,717 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982,including indexing for journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, pamphlets, educational software packages and audiovisual material. Full text for over 300 journals is provided.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library contains independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
Restricted access to College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and School of Osteopathic Medicine only
PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Largest databases devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Contains millions of records from journal articles (from ~2500 journals), books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations. Results can be limited to empirical study in the "Methodology" section of the search options.
Trip Database Pro This link opens in a new window
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database is a clinical search engine quickly and easily searches high-quality research evidence to support evidence-based practice. In addition to research evidence, the TRIP Database can be used to search other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.