LibGuides: Evidence-Based Physical Therapy: Secondary Literature

Systematic Reviews/Meta-Analyses

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Trip Database Pro This link opens in a new window
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database is a clinical search engine quickly and easily searches high-quality research evidence to support evidence-based practice. In addition to research evidence, the TRIP Database can be used to search other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains indexing for 2,717 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982,including indexing for journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, pamphlets, educational software packages and audiovisual material. Full text for over 300 journals is provided.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library contains independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
Restricted access to College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and School of Osteopathic Medicine only

Database of Abstracts of Reviews (DARE)
Although available on the same website (Cochrane Library), DARE differs from the CDSR in that it does not create systematic reviews. Instead, DARE offers critical appraisals of the systematic reviews published in dozens of journals, health databases, websites, and grey literature sources. Similar to the CDSR, most of the reviews concern the effects of health interventions.

Note: The default is to search all Cochrane databases; to search DARE only, look for "Other Reviews (DARE)" in the More Resources pull-down menu.
more...less...
Restricted access to College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and School of Osteopathic Medicine only
US Preventive Service Task Force Recommendation Statements
Reviews of the scientific evidence on preventive services (screening, counseling, and preventive medications) from an independent panel of experts made up of mainly primairy care providers.

Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
A reference for clinical decision making, EE+ features over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries that cover the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians encounter. This clinical reference tool was designed for use by physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals on the frontline of patient care.
Online Tutorial
Trip Database Pro This link opens in a new window
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database is a clinical search engine quickly and easily searches high-quality research evidence to support evidence-based practice. In addition to research evidence, the TRIP Database can be used to search other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Guidelines and Measures This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. Structured summaries with links to full-text guidelines when available.