Criminal Justice Abstracts™, formerly produced by Sage Publications, includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world. Criminal Justice Abstracts contains more than 200,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
The goal of this book is to provide a "quick reference guide" for law enforcement officers in their quest to furnish professional police services to their communities. Designed to be a handy source for the study of criminal procedures, this guide has assembled numerous court cases that will assist officers in dealing with the issues they may often encounter. Additionally, this book will be useful as a training aid in roll call and promotional examinations. Major topics include; (1) arrest and entry to make arrests; (2) detention and search of persons; (3) search and seizure defined; (4) search.
This six-volume set (organized A-Z) is similar to the title above. It contains definitions and short entries explaining criminal procedure terminology among other descriptive entries about the American Constitution.
Reflecting the many changes in the field and presenting new areas of research, the third edition of this reference contains 196 new entries and the majority of the remaining 158 entries have been updated. New entry topics include those on community and problem-oriented policing, crime prevention, placed-based theories of crime, police accountability, zero-tolerance, and new police roles related to terrorism. Other topics include new approaches of police intervention with youth and family violence, entries on the police departments in several major US cities, and several entries on international policing.